Biography

Peter David calls himself a "Writer of Stuff." His fans know him as PAD, the initials of his full name: Peter Allen David. He sometimes uses plays on words derived from his nickname acronym (i. e. NotePAD or PADawans, the latter being a clever term for his fans, similar to Trekkers).

He was born on September 23rd, 1956 in Maryland to Gunther and Dalia David, though he grew up mostly in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. He has a sister named Ronni Beth and a brother named Wally. Pursuing his father's career, Peter finished his studies at New York University with a Bachelor's degree in Journalism.

He started writing at age fifteen in what he would later refer to as his "fanzine days." He was interested in science fiction, especially Star Trek, and wrote for several fanzines before editing the amateur publication Second Age. As he became more involved in fandom, he scripted parody plays for conventions.

In 1978 he married Myra Kasman, whom he'd met at a Star Trek convention. They have three children: Shana (22), Guinevere ("Gwen", 18) and Ariel (12). After his divorce from Myra Peter became romantically involved with Kathleen O'Shea, a puppet maker from whom he'd bought custom-made puppets. She later became an assistant editor at Del Rey, though she has since left the publisher. She and Peter married in May, 2001. In December, 2002 the happy couple celebrated the birth of daughter Caroline. The family lives in New York.

Peter David's professional writing career started while he worked as Assistant Direct Sales Manager to Carol Kalish at Marvel Comics. Responsible for optimizing sale to comic shops, he also began pitching story ideas to editorial acquaintances. At first there was reluctance among the editorial staff to buying stories from a salesman but Peter's talent was undeniable.

He made his breakthrough on the series "Spectacular Spider-Man," where he attracted attention and critical acclaim with the four-parter "The Death of Jean DeWolff." Readers didn't expect a popular supporting character to die so violently at the story's very beginning. Nor did they predict the surprising revelation of the killer, Sin-Eater's, identity when Spider-Man finally uncovered it.

Peter David's affection for constant change and the psychological examination of his characters is prominent in his much-praised 12-year run on "The Incredible Hulk." He redefined a stale, repetitive character, giving the Hulk new popularity, and only left the series when Marvel executives insisted on the return of the savage, non-intelligent Hulk, a version Peter had no interest in writing.

Comic fans also know him as author of series such as "Aquaman", "Supergirl", "Soulsearchers & Company", "Young Justice", "Spy-Boy" and many others, including the new series "Fallen Angel" and "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles".

He writes a weekly column called "But I Digress" for the Comics Buyers Guide. Outside comics Peter David is best known for his Star Trek novels, which are often full of humor. Many of them have appeared on the New York Times Bestseller list. "Imzadi" remains one of the bestselling and most popular Star Trek novels. Peter's skill and success as a Star Trek author earned him the chance to co-create his own little corner of the Star Trek universe, Star Trek: New Frontier, in 1997. Since then he's written 17 novels, two short stories and a comic book one-shot based on New Frontier.

His fantasy novels "Sir Apropos of Nothing" and "Knight Life" have been very successful. There have been published sequels for both novels.

Peter David's work for movies and TV has been less successful thus far. He wrote the scripts for "Trancers IV: Jack of Swords" and "Trancers V: Sudden Death", which were filmed by "X-Files" director David Nutter, and for the sci-fi/western "Oblivion" (which won the Gold Award at the 1994 Houston International Film Festival for the Best Theatrical Feature Film in the category Fantasy/Horror). There was a sequel called "Backlash: Oblivion II". These movies have a cult status but Peter had no international success with them.

For TV he worked on "Babylon 5", scripting the 2nd-season episodes "Soul Mates" and "There All the Honor Lies" - the latter which introduced the John Sheridan bear, and an episode of the spinoff "Crusade". He also wrote novelizations to the B5 TV-movies "In The Beginning" and "Thirdspace", and collaborated with B5 creator J. Michael Straczynski on the comic books "In Valen's Name" part 2 and 3.

Peter's collaboration with "Babylon 5" and "Lost in Space" actor Bill Mumy in several projects resulted in the Nickelodeon TV series "Space Cases". The juvenile series, which only lasted two seasons totalling 26 episodes, was nominated for the Cable Ace Award. Peter describes the series as a combination of "Star Trek" and "Lost in Space".

In 2001/02 Peter worked for Chaos! Comics on the four-part miniseries "The Haunted" and a one-shot follow-up with illustrator Nat Jones. Though Peter enjoyed the experience, the publisher's bankruptcy prevented further work with the characters.

Peter David's career had endured and thrived for almost two decades and he's worked in almost every media - TV, film, novels, short stories and comics - gathering a lot of fans in each of them. Awards he has won include the Haxtur Award 1996 (Spain) for Best Comic Script, OZCon 1995 award (Australia) as Favorite International Writer, the Comics Buyers Guide 1995 Fan Award as Favorite Writer, the Wizard Fan Award 1993, the Golden Duck Award for Young Adult Series (Starfleet Academy) 1994, the UK Comic Art Award 1993, the Will Eisner Comic Industry Award 1993. Recently his work was again nominated in two categories for the Eisners. In the 1999 SFX Readers Award he was the sixth most popular author in the field, with four of his books finishing in the top ten in their category.

Or to paraphrase the author himself: "Peter David writes a lot of stuff."

Biografie

Peter David nennt sich selbst "Writer of stuff" (dt.: Schreiber von Zeugs). Als PAD ist er bei seinen Fans bekannt, was den Initialen seines vollen Namens Peter Allen David entspricht. Ein Spitzname, der im Englischen zu Wortspielen einlädt, was Peter auch immer wieder einmal nutzt (z. B. NotePAD oder PADawans - das wäre übrigens keine schlechte Bezeichnung für seine Fans, ähnlich wie Trekker).

Er wurde am 23.9.1956 in Maryland, USA, geboren. Seine Eltern sind Gunther und Dalia David, er hat eine Schwester, Ronni Beth, und einen Bruder, Wally. Peter wuchs in New Jersey und Pennsylvania auf. An der New York University absolvierte er sein Studium und schloß mit dem akademischen Grad eines Bakkalaureus in Journalismus ab. Damit trat er beruflich in die Fußstapfen seines Vaters.

Zu schreiben begann er eigenen Aussagen zufolge mit fünfzehn Jahren, "in meinen Fanzine-Tagen", wie er es ausdrückte. Er beschäftigte sich mit Science Fiction, v. a. Star Trek, schrieb für Fanzines und dachte sich Sketche für Conventions aus.

1978 heiratete er Myra Kasman, die er auf einer Star Trek Convention kennen gelernt hatte. Sie haben zusammen drei Kinder: Shana (22), Guinevere ("Gwen", 18) und Ariel (12). Nach seiner Scheidung begann Peter eine Beziehung mit Kathleen O'Shea, einer Puppenmacherin, bei der eingekauft hatte. Später wurde sie Assistant Editor bei Del Rey, hat den Verlag aber mittlerweile verlassen. Die beiden heirateten im Mai 2001. Im Dezember 2002 kam die gemeinsame Tochter Caroline zur Welt, Peter und Kathleen leben mit den Töchtern in New York.

Peter Davids professionelle Schreiber-Karriere begann, während er bei Marvel als "Direct Sales Manager" arbeitete, wo er die Aufgabe hatte, den Vertrieb an die Comic-Shops zu optimieren. Bald langweilte ihn sein Schreibtischjob und er begann, selbstgeschriebene Geschichtenentwürfe an Freunde und Kollegen bei Marvel zu schicken. Zuerst reagierten die Verleger etwas zurückhaltend damit, Geschichten von einem Verkäufer anzunehmen, aber Peters Talent war unverkennbar.

Der Durchbruch gelang ihm mit seiner Arbeit an der Comic Serie "Spectacular Spider-Man", wo er Mitte der Achtziger insbesondere durch den Vierteiler "The Death of Jean DeWolfe" Aufsehen erregte und zeigte, dass er seiner Zeit weit voraus war: Er ließ eine beliebte Nebenfigur auf ganz undramatische Weise direkt am Anfang der Handlung sterben und etablierte die Figur des psychopathischen Serienkillers "Sin-Eater", der trotz oder gerade wegen seines raschen Todes in der Serie auch heute noch einen hohen Bekanntheitsgrad genießt.

Peter David`s Liebe für ständige Veränderung und die psychologische Durchleuchtung seiner Figuren zeigte sich auch in seiner hochgelobten zwölfjährigen Arbeit an "The incredible Hulk", den er im Grunde völlig neu definierte und erst verließ, als man ihn bei Marvel dazu bewegen wollte, den früheren stummen und wilden Hulk zurückzubringen.

Comic Fans ist er außerdem bekannt als Autor bei den Serien "Aquaman", "Supergirl", "Soulsearchers & Co.", "Young Justice", "Spy-Boy" und anderen, inklusive der neuen Serien "Fallen Angels" und "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles". Er schreibt eine wöchentliche Kolumne im "Comic Buyer's Guide", die "But I Digress..." (zu deutsch "Aber ich schweife ab ...") heißt.

Außerhalb der Comic-Branche ist Peter David vor allem für seine Star Trek Romane bekannt, die häufig recht humorvoll sind. Viele seiner Star Trek Bücher landeten in der New York Times Bestseller-Liste. "Imzadi" zählt noch heute zu den bestverkauften Star Trek Romanen. Zudem schuf er die überaus populäre Reihe "Starfleet Academy", mit der er sich erfolgreich auch bei einem jüngeren Publikum etablieren konnte.

Peters Fähigkeiten und Erfolg als Star Trek Autor brachte ihm 1997 auch die Chance seine eigene Ecke des Star Trek Universums mitzuentwerfen: "Star Trek - New Frontier" (dt. "Die neue Grenze"). Seitdem hat er siebzehn Romane dafür geschrieben, zwei Kurzgeschichten und einen Comic.

Seine Fantasy-Romane "Sir Apropos of Nothing" und "Knight Life" waren ebenso sehr erfolgreich. Für beide Romane wurden Fortsetzungen veröffentlicht.

Weniger erfolgreich hingegen war Davids bisherige Arbeit für Kino und Fernsehen: Er schrieb die Skripts zu "Trancers IV: Jack of Swords" und "Trancers V: Sudden Death", die beide von "Akte X" Regisseur David Nutter verfilmt wurden, und zur Science-Fiction-Western-Parodie "Oblivion" (der den Gold Award beim 1994er Houston International Film Festival für den Best Theatrical Feature Film in der Kategorie Fantasy/Horror, die Fortsetzung heißt "Oblivion II: Backlash" ). Alle drei Filme genießen Kult-Status, internationalen Erfolg erntete er dadurch aber nicht.

Für das Fernsehen arbeitete Peter unter anderem an "Babylon 5" (2. Staffel: Episoden "Soul Mates" und "There All the Honor Lies"; er schrieb auch die Romane zu den B5-Filmen "In The Beginning" und "Thirdspace" und die Comics zur Serie "In Valen's Name", Teil 2 und 3; zudem ist er für den John Sheridan Bär verantwortlich) und "Crusade" sowie an der Trickfilmserie "Roswell".

Seine Zusammenarbeit mit B5-Darsteller Bill Mumy an diversen Projekten gipfelte in der für den Cable Ace Award nominierten Kinderserie "Space Cases", die zwei Staffeln lang (26 Folgen) bei Nickelodeon lief. Er beschreibt sie als "Kombination von Star Trek und Lost in Space".

2001/2002 arbeitete Peter David auch wieder für Chaos! Comics, und zwar an der vierteiligen Mini-Serie "The Haunted" mit Zeichner Nat Jones, die im Dezember 2002 erschien. Obwohl Peter die Erfahrung genoß, verhinderte der Bankrott des Verlags eine weitere Arbeit an den Figuren.

Mittlerweile umspannt Peter Davids Karriere zwei Jahrzehnte. Er hat in fast jedem denkbaren Medium gearbeitet: Fernsehen, Film, Buch, Kurzgeschichte und Comics und schaffte sich in allen davon eine umfangreiche Anhängerschaft. Die Auszeichnungen, die er mit seiner vielfältigen Arbeit erlangte, umfassen zum Beispiel den Haxtur Award 1996 (Spanien) für das beste Comic Script, den OZCon 1995 Award (Australien) als beliebtester Internationaler Autor, den Comics Buyers Guide 1995 Fan Award als beliebtester Autor. Außerdem ist er Wizard Fan Award Winner 1993, erhielt 1994 den Golden Duck Award für Serien für junge Erwachsene (für Starfleet Academy), den UK Comic Art Award 1993 und den Will Eisner Comic Industry Award 1993. Vor kurzem wurde seine Arbeit wieder für zwei Kategorien für den Eisners nominiert. Beim 1999er SFX Readers Award war er der sechstbeliebteste Autor, wobei vier seiner Bücher in ihrer Kategorie in die Top Ten kamen.

Mit seinen eigenen Worten kurz gesagt: "Peter David schreibt eine Menge Zeugs."